18 companies are racing to put a gigawatt of new nuclear on the American grid.

None of them has generated a commercial megawatt yet. This is where each one stands, measured in evidence rather than announcements.

Data as of 2026-08-06 · 18 race entrants · 28 sourced projects

0 MWe operational across all 18 entrants. Each figure below is a separate frame. They are never added together.

0MWe operationalGrid-connected commercial power
440MWe being builtNRC-permitted or DOE-authorized, work documented
1,981MWe on executed actionsEverything documented, applications included
40,075MWe announced, non-bindingMOU, LOI, or target. No binding documents

Catch up

Latest developments

All updates →
  1. 2026-08-06
    Oklo · Criticality

    Groves reached first criticality in Caldwell County, Texas, the first Reactor Pilot Program reactor to do so on private land and a greenfield site, under a year from groundbreaking · A zero-power critical assembly. DOE's environmental determination puts its maximum power at 100 watts, and Oklo states it does not generate electricity for the grid. Contributes 0 MWe.

    Company-reported source ↗
  2. 2026-08
    Valar Atomics · Venture equity

    $1B Series B at a $6B valuation · Sequoia Capital (lead)

    Company-reported source ↗
  3. 2026-08
    Valar Atomics · Venture debt

    $200M credit facility, announced alongside the Series B · Erebor Bank (lead), J.P. Morgan, Crescent Cove, Hercules Capital

    Company-reported source ↗
  1. Natrium · Kemmerer Unit 1Stage 6 · Physical deployment

    Submit and secure the separate NRC operating license before fuel loading or operation.

    Owner · TerraPower and NRC
  2. Hermes 2Stage 6 · Physical deployment

    Complete nuclear construction, request operating licenses, then load fuel and test.

    Owner · Kairos Power and NRC
  3. Molten Chloride Reactor ExperimentStage 6 · Physical deployment

    Complete fuel production, install the experiment in LOTUS, obtain authorization, and begin the planned test campaign.

    Owner · INL, Southern Company, TerraPower, and DOE
  4. Aurora pilot reactorStage 6 · Physical deployment

    Complete construction, load fuel, and reach initial criticality; the NRC combined license is a separate track toward commercial operation.

    Owner · Oklo, DOE Idaho Operations, and NRC

The race board

18 companies building new-design reactors for U.S. deployment, ranked by the strongest state their megawatts have actually reached. Tracked sample, as of 2026-08-06.

18 of 18
  • Operational
  • Nuclear construction
  • DOE-authorized build
  • Under review
  • Contracted
  • Announced, non-binding
Full key ↓
  1. TerraPower

    Natrium · 345 MWe per unit · Grid-scale SMR

    3,490 MWe announced, non-binding, runs past the line

    Nuclear construction · 345 MWe

  2. Kairos Power

    KP-FHR · 140 MWe per unit · Grid-scale SMR

    480 MWe announced, non-binding

    Nuclear construction · 20 MWe

  3. Oklo

    Aurora · 75 MWe per unit · Grid-scale SMR

    13,755 MWe announced, non-binding, runs past the line

    DOE-authorized build · 75 MWe

  4. Holtec International

    SMR-300 · 300 MWe per unit · Grid-scale SMR

    2,040 MWe announced, non-binding, runs past the line

    Under review · 600 MWe

  5. X-energy

    Xe-100 · 80 MWe per unit · Grid-scale SMR

    4,680 MWe announced, non-binding, runs past the line

    Under review · 320 MWe

  6. GE Vernova Hitachi

    BWRX-300 · 300 MWe per unit · Grid-scale SMR

    3,000 MWe announced, non-binding, runs past the line

    Under review · 300 MWe

  7. Show all 18 companies ↓
    1. Radiant Industries

      Kaleidos · 1 MWe per unit · Microreactor

      No announced pipeline on record

      Contracted · 1 MWe

    2. Aalo Atomics

      Aalo-X · 10 MWe per unit · Microreactor

      Announced framework on record, capacity not disclosed

      No executed megawatts · announced pipeline only

    3. Antares Nuclear

      R1 · 0.3 MWe per unit · Microreactor

      No announced pipeline on record

      No executed or announced megawatts on record

    4. BWXT

      Project Pele / BANR · 1.5 MWe per unit · Microreactor

      Announced framework on record, capacity not disclosed

      No executed megawatts · announced pipeline only

    5. Deep Fission

      Gravity Reactor · 15 MWe per unit · Microreactor

      2,000 MWe announced, non-binding, runs past the line

      No executed megawatts · announced pipeline only

    6. Deployable Energy

      Unity · 1 MWe per unit · Microreactor

      No announced pipeline on record

      No executed or announced megawatts on record

    7. Last Energy

      PWR-20 · 20 MWe per unit · Microreactor

      600 MWe announced, non-binding

      No executed megawatts · announced pipeline only

    8. NANO Nuclear Energy

      KRONOS MMR · 15 MWe per unit · Microreactor

      No announced pipeline on record

      No executed or announced megawatts on record

    9. NuScale Power

      NuScale Power Module / VOYGR · 77 MWe per unit · Grid-scale SMR

      6,000 MWe announced, non-binding, runs past the line

      No executed megawatts · announced pipeline only

    10. Terrestrial Energy

      IMSR · 195 MWe per unit · Grid-scale SMR

      4,000 MWe announced, non-binding, runs past the line

      No executed megawatts · announced pipeline only

    11. Valar Atomics

      Ward 250 · 5 MWe per unit · Microreactor

      30 MWe announced, non-binding

      No executed megawatts · announced pipeline only

    12. Westinghouse

      eVinci · 5 MWe per unit · Microreactor

      No announced pipeline on record

      No executed or announced megawatts on record

How to read the bars

The track runs to 1,200 MWe. The vertical rule is one gigawatt. Each company gets two tracks: megawatts backed by an executed action on top, announced and non-binding megawatts on the fainter track below. The two are never added together, and announced megawatts never change the ranking.

Operational
0 MWe across 0 entrants. Grid-connected and generating commercial power. Authority: Grid operator.
Nuclear construction
365 MWe across 2 entrants. NRC construction permit issued and physical nuclear work documented. Authority: NRC.
DOE-authorized build
75 MWe across 1 entrant. Built under a DOE authorization pathway with physical work documented. Not an NRC license to operate. Authority: DOE.
Under review
1,220 MWe across 3 entrants. Construction-permit or combined-license application docketed and in active regulator review. Authority: NRC.
Contracted
321 MWe across 2 entrants. An executed, funded agreement for a named project, whether offtake, order, delivery, or development funding, not yet in regulator review. Each claim says which kind it is. Authority: Counterparty.
Announced, non-binding
40,075 MWe across 13 entrants. MOU, LOI, master agreement, or announced target. No executed project documents. Authority: None.
Read the roster and band rules

For scale: the most recent new American nuclear capacity was 2,234 MWe total at Vogtle Units 3 and 4, the first two U.S. AP1000 units, finished in 2024-04. Every company on the board is trying to do it smaller and faster. Georgia Power commercial-operation record ↗

Projects by stage

28 sourced U.S. projects, grouped by strongest documented milestone
STAGE 10 projects

Interest

Exploring the idea

No tracked companies
STAGE 81 project

Replication

Repeat units or fleet delivery

Federal orders and programs

4 executive orders tracked
EO 14299National security deploymentIn progressEO 14300NRC reformImplementation underwayEO 14301DOE reactor testingGoal exceeded · DOE reported four criticalitiesOpen the federal tracker →

Loans and cost shares

3 instruments, never summed
$17.5BAmerican Nuclear Supply Chain LoansConditional · not closed$1.52BPalisades restart loanClosed · licensing conditions remain$3.2BARDP planned federal cost shareSubject to appropriationsSee the capital stack →

Milestones after criticality

LOW-POWER TESTINGPOWER ASCENSIONFIRST ELECTRICITYFULL POWERREPLICATION

After initial criticality: verify physics and controls, clear regulatory hold points, raise power, connect the balance of plant, demonstrate reliability, then finance and contract repeat units.

Read stage definitions

Follow the evidence

New documents land on the updates page first. Corrections with a source are welcome.